OF JACKSON

CIVIL SERVICE BOARD

APPOINTED BOARD MEMBERS

William Cutts, Chair
James Register, Vice Chair
Edythe Abdullah
C. Popham Decunto
Tameka Holly
William J. Miller
Wendy Norfleet
Warren Smith
Karen Weaver

Nicole Brantley

Chief Administrative Officer 231 E. Forsyth Street, Suite 420 Jacksonville, Florida 32202 Phone: (904) 255-7980 Fax: (904) 255-7990

Email: csb@coj.net

MINUTES

Meeting Date: September 12, 2024

Convened: 2:00 pm **Adjourned:** 3:42 pm

Board Members Present: William Cutts (chair), James Register (vice-chair), Tameka Holly,

Karen Weaver, Poppy Decunto, and Warren Smith.

Board Members Absent: Edythe Abdullah, Wendy Norfleet and William Miller

Board's Legal Advisor: Christopher Garrett, Esq.

Court Reporter: Stephanie Lachowicz, River City Legal

Security: Damian Wolf, First Coast Security

Introduced new Board Members - Warren Smith and Tameka Holly

Legal Sufficiency for Disciplinary Appeal Hearing

Employee/Department: David Washington advs. Jacksonville Fire & Rescue Department

CSB Case #2024-047-D

Abstentions: None

Employer's Attorney: Rita Mairs, Esq.

Employee's Attorney: Pro se

Pre-Hearing Motion: Motion to Dismiss Disciplinary Appeal

Alleged Rule Violation(s): Civil Service Rules and Regulations - Rule 9.05 (1)(a)(d)(4)(b)(3)

Alleged Grounds for The disciplinary appeal was untimely filed with the Civil Service

Dismissal: Board.

Action taken by the Board: Motion to Dismiss granted by the Chair.

Vote: Warren Smith made a motion to overturn Chair's decision. Motion was seconded by Poppy Decunto. Motion

failed in vote 3-3.

In-Favor: Warren Smith, Poppy Decunto and Tameka Holly

Opposed: Karen Weaver, Jim Register and Bill Cutts

Election of Chair and Vice-Chair for 2024-2025 Term

Board nominations for July 1, 2024, through June 30, 2024, term

- Chair
 - o Jim Register made a motion to re-elect Bill Cutts to Chair position.
 - o Motion seconded by Karen Weaver. Vote 5-0.
- Vice-chair
 - o Bill Cutts made motion to re-elect Jim Register Vice-Chair position.
 - o Motion seconded by Tameka Holly. Vote 5-0.
- Rules Committee Chair
 - o Chair Bill Cutts appointed Karen Weaver to Rules Committee Chair position.

Public Comments

• None

Request for Civil Service Status for the following individuals:

Name/Position	Board Action
Anina Guyton, Assistant to the Office Administrator, Office of General Counsel	Approved
Barbara Ireland-Hobson, Legislative Affairs Assistant, Office of General Counsel	Approved
Samantha Schultz, Legislative Affairs Assistant, Office of General Counsel	Approved
Terrence Harvey, Assistant General Counsel, Office of General Counsel	Approved

Additional Items Discussed

• 2025 Board meeting dates will remain on the second and fourth Thursday of the month.

Minutes Prepared by: Nicole Brantley, Chief Administrative Officer